Clay Gordon, complete!

Spring finally decided to make an appearance, and everyone in Georgia is ecstatic. Today was especially gorgeous.

I promised said I would not touch anything on my sculpture, but I checked to see if he was drying properly and the clay was at a perfect stage to make a few MINOR tweaks. But he is now done. Finished.

Obviously one of the obstacles when casting my sculpture will be the pipe. Traditionally, the pipe of the armature resides in the small of the back. When I sculpted the body, it just ended up like this:

I’m wondering if we’ll try to get the pipe out or saw it off or….I don’t know. If I was making a plaster mold and casting it in plaster, it would be easy to fix this, but we are using something different. Lots of think about.

Now I am controlling how fast he dries to a leather hard state. During the process, his left leg cracked twice along the knee cap. I have lightly sprayed towels over the sculpture (which will also add interesting surface texture as it dries) and added some plastic on top. I’m checking on it every day. So far, I have not seen any signs of the clay cracking again. Let’s hope it stays that way.

2 responses to “Clay Gordon, complete!

  1. I am so proud of you!! Gordon looks amazing. I cannot wait to see the casting process.

  2. PiterJankovich

    My name is Piter Jankovich. oOnly want to tell, that your blog is really cool
    And want to ask you: is this blog your hobby?
    P.S. Sorry for my bad english

Leave a Reply

