HIGH, with a chance of art

+ If I waited until tomorrow to post, it would exactly be a whole month since my last post. And lots has happened since the 14th of June. I got a job (finally) and then suddenly got ignored by the managers (nevermind), which means I’m still unemployed. And then I can say that not much has happened. Meaning that there is not any new artwork whatsoever in this post. Congratulations Kelly on being the biggest bum of an artist! However, in the coming weeks I’m hoping I’ll create some sketches and watercolor paintings since I’m going on a whirlwind three weeks vacation extravaganza (in my world, anyway). My birthday present this year was a plane ticket to California to spend two whole weeks with my friend who I haven’t seen in two years. And then today, I’m told that before I go to California, I’m spending a week in St. Simon’s Island with my family. For a girl who complains that the only place she ever goes to is Disney World, this is really exciting!

+ July 7th was my 20th birthday. So my three sisters and I spent the day in Atlanta at the High Museum of Art. I saw Monet!

I was so excited about the art exhibit I even took a picture next to a cardboard cutout of the famous French painter.

I was afraid to take pictures in the gallery, so I snagged a brochure (Which is very damaged because it got wet and then crumbled into a ball in my purse. My apologies!) to show the works I saw. The painting on the cover was the first one we saw. I gazed at the brushstrokes and had to hold in a very geeky, fangirl squeal. I was looking at MONET paintings! He MADE THAT BRUSH STROKE!
The highlight of the show was the last gigantic painting on three panels called “Reflections of Clouds on the Water Lily Pond” (painted in 1920). The picture below is only the center panel. It’s such a gorgeous painting. It’s one of those paintings that when you stand close, you feel enveloped in the art work. It was so fantastic.

I vaguely remember this fact, but we read about it at the exhibit: Monet was losing his eye sight when he made these paintings. What some people don’t know is that his eyesight was fixed after an operation. He later looked at the paintings after the surgery and he said that he liked them as they were, and would not change a thing about them.
After the Monet exhibit was Richard Misrach’s photographs, “On the Beach.”

My sisters particularly loved this exhibit. The photographs were gigantic (again, you could feel like you were IN the artwork). The photos are beautiful and scary. The picture above is one of many like it. Lots of photos of people drifting in the sea. My favorite was a picture of a girl either diving or doing a handstand in the ocean, where you could only see her calves and feet above the seemingly treacherous water. My other favorites are the photos he took of the gizillion or so footprints in the sand. Obviously the beach had many visitors, but the photo had a feeling of loss, of emptiness. Since Misrach paralleled these photos to the victims of 9/11, It reminded me of the memorial plans of the Twin Towers. The chosen design was to have two pools, showing where the twin towers once stood. Like footprints.
It was a fascinating, and sometimes a challenging exhibit to process. It was almost a bummer on my birthday. :-)
The High was really awesome to go to, so if you’re wondering whether it’s worth to go to the exhibit, I think it definitely is! Though I think that you should skip the Louvre exhibit. My sisters and I felt like we were in the midst of the cast-offs the Louvre decided to let the High keep for a while longer. Maybe I’m just bitter the Vermeer painting of the astronomer wasn’t there anymore.
Thanks to Heather for taking the picture of me next to Monet! :-)
The scan is from my brochure from the High Museum of Art in Atlanta.
The center panel photo of Claude Monet’s “Reflections of Clouds on the Water Lily Pond” was from http://www.marriott.com/specials/mesOffer.mi?marrOfferId=436015&displayLink=true
The image of the cover of Richard Misrach’s book “On the Beach” is from www.vincentborrelli.com/ cgi-bin/vbb/105104
Leave a Reply

