High on Monet

Over the years, I’ve become more and more impressed with the High Museum of Art. I’ve seen some really great exhibits there. To say I was flabbergasted that pieces of one of the greatest archaeology discoveries known to man- China’s Terracotta Army- came to the High is an understatement. To see beautiful art pieces on loan from the Louvre, including artwork by Johannes Vermeer, Jean-Antoine Houdon, etc to infinity, was so fantastic. And a week ago, I glance at the Atlanta Journal Constitution and I read about the High exhibiting works by Monet.  

“Monet Water Lilies presents an intimate view of four of Monet’s most spectacular works from The Museum of Modern Art, New York. The highlight of the exhibition is a breathtaking 42-foot painting that inspires a sense of serenity, meditation, and the infinite. Painted at the end of his life, this series became Monet’s “obsession,” as he wrote in 1908. In these paintings, he sought to capture the beauty he found in nature, especially in his beloved garden at Giverny. 


This exhibition explores Monet’s devotion to his garden and the changes in his technique at the end of his life. His late works transcend his familiar Impressionist style and venture into abstraction. Even though Monet’s abstract technique was largely a result of deteriorating vision, these works profoundly influenced subsequent generations of artists.”

I’ve loved Monet’s work since I was little. My parents have had framed prints of Monet paintings hanging in our home for as long as I can remember. And I don’t remember who gave me the book, but I worshipped and guarded my copy of Linnea in Monet’s Garden. That book always made me want to hitch a ride to France and go to Monet’s garden and see the gigantic water lilies painting (kinda like how watching Under the Tuscan Sun makes me want to go to Italy and buy a villa). Right now I’m plotting an adventure to the High to see the Monet exhibit. Convincing my family to go is harder than I anticipated, which is funny seeing that they own Monet prints.   

The quote and the picture of Claude Monet’s “Japanese Footbridge”
 is from  the High Museum website: http://www.high.org
Leave a Reply

