To sculpt or not to sculpt? That’s a really good question…

Sculpture class is extremely early in the morning (I have to wake up at 6am). So during the course of this project, I kept forgetting to bring in my camera to photograph the progression of this torso bust.

Luckily, I brought it in today and got a shot of what it looked like after the fourth session:

And then photographed the almost done torso bust after today’s fifth session (and our last day with the model):

I’m glad that I’m taking two classes where I study nude models because then I get to experience the difference between drawing the figure and sculpting the figure. I made my schedule like this on purpose so I could decide this semester if I’m just going to major in Drawing/Painting or if I’m going to double major with Sculpture. Decisions, decisions…
After I trim up a few areas, we are going to cast this bust in plaster. This clay bust will probably be destroyed…but I hope it won’t. 
2 responses to “To sculpt or not to sculpt? That’s a really good question…

  1. These are beautifu! did she get destroyed?

Leave a Reply

